top of page

Language Levels

Tertulia Language follows the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). It is a guide to language levels that provides a way to determine your linguistic ability in any language.

In all the levels we will work together to develop your listening, writing, speaking and reading skills in the target language.


Are you unsure of your level and which course is right for you? Take our handy online test!

Tertulia Language Levels
Common European Framework


At the end of Beginner level:

  • You can understand and use very basic phrases of the target language

in order to express yourself with day-to-day situations.

  • You can introduce yourself and your family.

  • You can say where you live and work.

  • You can order food and drinks.

  • You can book a hotel.

  • You can find your way in town.

  • You can apply vocabulary for shopping in the market.

  • You can say the time.


At the end of Elementary level:

  • You can extend your vocabulary learning more words and expressions

applying more basic structures of the target language.

  • You can describe your daily routine.

  • You can describe houses.

  • You can apply vocabulary for buying clothes.

  • You can describe people.

  • You can apply vocabulary about health problems.

  • You can express likes and dislikes.

  • You can have a basic conversation.


At the end of Intermediate level:

Students will be able to use a wide range of grammatical structures in order to gain more confidence to express themselves in several topics.

Upper Intermediate

At the end of Upper Intermediate level:

Students will work more developing their listening, writing, speaking and reading skills in the target language.


At the end of Advanced / Proficient level:

Students will be able to consolidate their understanding in more complex grammatical structures and idiomatic expressions.

Also learners will be able to discuss and debate different current issues in politics, economy, environment and others.


The Common European Framework (CEFR) divides learners into three broad divisions that can be divided into six levels; for each level, it describes what a learner is supposed to be able to do in reading, listening, speaking and writing.

These descriptions can apply to any of the languages spoken in Europe.

bottom of page